New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





D
step into liquid
director: dana brown
This celebration of the lifestyle of surfing showcases not only the extreme tow-in guys but also the lesserknowns who surf Lake Michigan (bunch of Vietnam veterans), Matson ship wakes (in Texas), Ireland (Protestant and Catholic kids enjoying themselves together)and Easter Island to such great effect one can actually believe that the heart and soul of surfing is still alive and possibly inside You. It is an entirely positive, joyous, and even handed approach by the son of the star of Endless Summer,and, when repeated reference to "the Stoke" is irritating, the Aussies turn up and say they call having fun "doing crack".
reviewed by: Eve |  September 2003 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


28 days later
director: danny boyle
Scary good fun though plagued with more than a couple of "dumb white guy goes into the spot where the monsters are hiding" moments (according to Eddie Murphy, black people would leave the house). Marrying a spunky young British cast, this is easily one of the better horror movies I've seen in a while.
reviewed by: liz |  July 2003 [link] |  recommend 6 thumbs up


sunshine
director: danny boyle
A group of astronauts fly a perilous mission to drop off a bomb in the sun's core in order to save Earth. I was asked by the guy in front of me to stop talking half-way through the film, so I guess he liked it more than me (though, it wasn't bad).
reviewed by: blaine |  August 2007 [link] |  recommend


wedding crashers
director: david dobkin
Dude. Shakes head slowly, laughing softly...dude.
reviewed by: blaine |  August 2005 [link] |  recommend 6 thumbs up


shanghai knights
director: david dobkin
I like kung-fu a whole lot, but not this much. In SK's London, everyone our heroes meet turns out to be a notable historical figure, which gets old before it happens the first time (though it was a sort of fun distraction trying to decide whether or not Arthur ["Artie"] Conan Doyle resembled happyrobot's Rich).
reviewed by: matthewS |  February 2003 [link] |  recommend


fight club
director: david fincher
We're all a bunch of wusses, so blame support groups, IKEA, and your soul-sucking job. One of the darker black comedies to come out of Hollywood in years, chock full of beautifully brutal and near subliminal imagery, a film you won't soon forget.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


zodiac
director: david fincher
A movie with no closure, that ultimately makes you feel frustrated and un-fulfilled at the close-but-no-cigar nature of the case, which means most people aren't gonna like it, even though I did. It also drives home the fact (in no uncertain terms) that being stabbed is just no damn fun.
reviewed by: eric w |  March 2007 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up


the social network
director: david fincher

Like.
reviewed by: jen |  November 2010 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up


the devil wears prada
director: david frankel
The Devil Wears Prada is fun and delicious flick that greatly improves on the 2003 book by Lauren Weisberger. Anne Hathaway is lovely, Meryl Streep is divine and Patricia Fields (costume designer: sex in the city) must have had a blast compiling the most over-the-top logo covered wardrobe to ever been filmed.
reviewed by: rachel |  July 2006 [link] |  recommend


all the real girls
director: david gordon green
While David Gordon Green's new movie "All the Real Girls" covers no new cinematic ground in terms of subject matter (love, loss, misunderstanding, identity and reflection), this movie approaches such recurrent themes with a freshness and "quiet documentary" style that even without the stellar acting of Zooey Deschanel, the slow beauty of this film is well worth the inevitable internal emotional turmoil you are likely to feel after viewing. The soundtrack rocks, too.
[guest review - Miss Anthropy]
reviewed by: guest review |  April 2003 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


mulholland drive
director: david lynch
This is a great film, a masterpiece of nightmare logic; taking some ideas from Lost Highway, Eraserhead, and even Ronnie Rocket (only a script). This is definitely one of Lynch's finest efforts and just when you think you've got a handle on things it all goes screwy again.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  October 2001 [link] |  recommend


straight story, the
director: david lynch
It's almost the end of the 20th century and David Lynch's best film in years is a G rated film for Disney. Beautifully shot and wonderfully acted, everyone should go see this film be you Lynch fan or Walt fan.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


inland empire
director: david lynch
"Why turn a film back into words?" Relatively impossible (and pointless) to describe, it must be seen and heard and experienced.
reviewed by: alec |  January 2007 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


state and main
director: david mamet
While David Mamet and comedy might seem like oil and water
this is nonetheless an enjoyable film. Rapid fire dialogue and
great performances (especially the always amazing Phillip
Seymour Hoffman), an old fashioned screwball comedy from
the foul mouthed Bard, in a year without "Best in Show" this
would have been the funniest film of the year.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  January 2001 [link] |  recommend


heist
director: david mamet
After this one I'm starting to suspect that David Mamet may truly be a short con operator and his entire career has been a setup to get me to see this lame film. They are doublecrosses at an exponential rate here folks, but where is the love; Matt Johnson asked if this was like a second rate "The Conversation" but I would have to say it's more a second rate "Hoosiers".
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  December 2001 [link] |  recommend


three kings
director: david o russell
Here is a very schizophrenic film (black comedy, action, social commentary) which shouldn't work but somehow it does. The three leads all turn in great performances and the film shifts seamlessly between moments of dark comedy and very realistic violence, a highly entertaining film.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


the simpsons movie
director: david silverman
Mr. Robot is the big Simpsons fan in our house but I enjoy it too as the tv show has become a national treasure (oh don't get me started about the preview for Nat Tres 2 we saw...Helen Mirren, what are you doing?). Anyway, the Simpsons Movie is ever bit as enjoyable as the tv show, the quality of the artwork is just amazing and spider pig rules.
reviewed by: rachel |  August 2007 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up


national security
director: dennis dugan
Are you like me (in that you are sometimes in the mood for a dopey, underwritten comedy starring a performer who is talented enough to be amusing without the benefit of script that is in itself funny, or smart, or inventive, or plausible, or seemingly written by someone older than 13)? If so, you will enjoy watching Martin Lawrence and his mustachioed cracker sidekick Steve Zahn bring the dumb yuks in this movie (and the converse is also true).
reviewed by: matthewS |  January 2003 [link] |  recommend


finding nemo
director: disney
I have a lot against the Disney machine, but nothing against the animators that create hilarious characters as in Toy Story with all-too-human vanities and a dark, witty subtext that is great for adults, too. Finding Nemo, the story of a Dad clownfish who crosses the ocean in search of his son was neither dark nor witty and kind of lame for grownups, but would be great if you brought a kid cuz it is still sweet and funny (I smoked pot before i went and it did not make it more enjoyable - do not take drugs if you are the sole person in charge of a child).
reviewed by: adina |  June 2003 [link] |  recommend


a guide to recognizing your saints
director: dito montiel
reviewed by: jen |  October 2006 [link] |  recommend


bubba ho-tep
director: don coscarelli
What if Elvis Presley faked his death, what if he was currently residing in a retirement home in Texas, what if he teamed up with an eldery black man who claimed to be JFK to fight a mummy who was sucking out the souls of the elderly? Thankfully, we no longer have to speculate on how this would go down; if you're a fan of Bruce Campell's work in the Evil Dead series (and if you're not, you ought to be ashamed) then this unpolished gem will go down smooth.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  September 2003 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


bourne identity, the
director: doug liman
Decent spy film which by the last reel ends up being a build up towards a big nothing. Still, the scenery is nice and the colors are pretty....plus there's jumping running and kicking!
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  June 2002 [link] |  recommend


troll 2
director: drake floyd (ne claudio fragasso)
Alec and I had a surprise houseguest this fall named Andy, who—when not purchasing lighters in the shape of a hand giving you the finger, girls' pumas in African-inspired colors, or puffer jackets from Canal street—recommended that we watch Troll 2, which was, he said, the worst movie ever made. He was right; set in a town called Nilbog (Goblin backwards, you fools!), Troll 2 not only has no trolls, but also has the important benefits of an acting style previously only seen in elementary school plays, completely retarded costumes, strong homoerotic overtones, and dialogue strikingly similar to a foreign language translated into English by a first-year student who has not yet learned the verb “to be”—in short, a true camp horror classic that I would recommend wholeheartedly to anyone with a genuine appreciation of the “so-bad-it's-good” genre.
reviewed by: mizalmond |  May 2006 [link] |  recommend 5 thumbs up



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us