New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





W
undisputed
director: walter hill
The fights aren't UNDISPUTED's least believable scenes, but anyone who's seen RAGING BULL (and wondered why Scorcese's fight sequences were lauded for their "realism") knows that boxing doesn't translate to the silver screen very well. UNDISPUTED features capable performances from Ving Rhames as a Mike Tyson type, Peter Falk as a Meyer Lansky type, and Wesley Snipes as... a... Wesley Snipes type -- but if you're not a devotee of the prison picture genre, you might want to pass on this pastiche.
reviewed by: matthewS |  October 2002 [link] |  recommend


grizzly man
director: werner herzog
Herzog's latest entry in his "man going insane in a wild environment" series is a compelling portrait of a troubled activist who spent the last 15 years living up close with bears in Alaska and filming it all before getting ripped apart and eaten alive by them. While the wildlife footage is as intimate as we will ever see of the daily lives of these powerful animals, the most interesting aspect of the film is watching this man slowly lose touch with the modern world... and his mind.
(reviewed by sven!)
reviewed by: guest review |  August 2005 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up


encounters at the end of the world
director: werner herzog
In his documentary about the Antartic Community of nutty scientists, Werner Herzog went searching for the extreme in man, but he found the vagina of the earth.
reviewed by: jen |  July 2008 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


my best fiend
director: werner herzog
This documentary, a love/hate letter from director Herzog to his leading man/nutcase Klaus Kinski, is a interesting if not especially pleasant film. The film chronicles their working relationship over the course of several films and it's plain to see that their talents meshed well together, unfortunately we don't learn all that much about the men behind the madness.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


royal tenenbaums, the
director: wes anderson
Rushmore is my favorite film of the last three years, I love it more with every viewing. I love Anderson's newest effort as well and look forward to all my future viewings of this beautiful film as he delves deeper into a world of his own making.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  December 2001 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


the life aquatic with steve zissou
director: wes anderson
Bill Murray plays a cranky, down-on-his-luck oceanographer named Steve Zissou who films aquatic documentaries with the help of his fantastic crew aboard the mighty ship BELAFONTE. His best friend Estaban being eaten by a "Jaguar shark," the re-appearance of his son Ned (Owen Wilson), his wife's (Angelica Huston) wanderlust, insane pirates in the Phillippines, even his delightfully psychotic and priggish nemesis (Jeff Goldblum) will not deter him from making his last documentary and proving himself!
reviewed by: victoria |  December 2004 [link] |  recommend 6 thumbs up


what the #$*! do we know!?
director: william arntz
This movie is mindblowingly cool, especially when it departs from Psychology 001 educational video territory or the hokey basic plot involving a cranky bespectacled photographer. 14 quantum physics professors, experts and mystics all offer their views on the universe, thought, potential, and the mystery of "If thoughts can do that do water, what can they do to US?"
reviewed by: victoria |  September 2004 [link] |  recommend


troy
director: wolfgang petersen
Despite the hot babe potential of this movie, Orlando Bloom is a way better elf than he is a pouty Paris; Brad Pitt is better at being on the cover of People but had one cool bad-ass warrior move; Petroclus is HOT, though not Achilles' lover here; old wrinkly men with beards that need trimming are not attractive; and there was not enough STORY even though it is based on a fabulous Greek tale. I can't believe that whiny bitch Helen started it all.
reviewed by: Eve |  May 2004 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


perfect storm, the
director: wolfgang peterson
George Clooney and Mark Wahlberg are definitely well on their way to becoming the Martin & Lewis of the 21st Century and this waterlogged turd is just the vehicle to bring them there. It just proves my old adage: "You can lead the director of Das Boot to water but you can't get him to make another great film," do yourself a favor: stay home and read the book.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


in the mood for love
director: wong kar-wai
Super lush, well-made film about a would-be romance
between two people who spouses are having an affair with
one another. Coincidence and missed opportunity play a huge
role in this wonderfully melancholy treat.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  February 2001 [link] |  recommend


the curse of the jade scorpion
director: woody allen
We all know Woody can bang out a period piece to beat the band, this time he does it a little too well. In paying homage to lame screwball comedies from the 40ís heís kind of created one; though not without itís moments (the zingers are none stop) this is an entertaining little film which left me feeling glad that he still manages to get out one a year.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  August 2001 [link] |  recommend


sweet and lowdown
director: woody allen
Entertaining film which is a series of vignettes about a "legendary" jazz guitarist which may or may not be tall tales. At the heart of this film is a common Allen theme, beauty created by a less than beautiful person.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


small time crooks
director: woody allen
He should have left well enough alone with last year's terrific "Sweet & Lowdown", because this crap circus is , in my humble opinion, the worst thing Woody has ever put on the screen. What begins promising enough (the first Ĺ hour reminds me a lot of Take The Money & Run) takes a weak plot turn from which it never recovers and neither will the audience after being assaulted with a slew of lame ass high society jokesÖ.so far Woody2K ain't looking so good to me.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


ballistic: ecks vs. sever
director: wych kaosayananda
If this isn't the worst movie you've ever seen, it's close enough. You don't know how terrible XXX wasn't until you've seen BALLISTIC: ECKS VS. SEVER.
reviewed by: matthewS |  September 2002 [link] |  recommend



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us