New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





P
paper heart
director: nicholas jasenovec
I felt the love. I liked the puppets.
reviewed by: jen |  August 2009 [link] |  recommend


perfect storm, the
director: wolfgang peterson
George Clooney and Mark Wahlberg are definitely well on their way to becoming the Martin & Lewis of the 21st Century and this waterlogged turd is just the vehicle to bring them there. It just proves my old adage: "You can lead the director of Das Boot to water but you can't get him to make another great film," do yourself a favor: stay home and read the book.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


persepolis
director: vincent parannaud and marjane satrapi
This is the first film adapted from a graphic novel that I have seen that looked and felt like a graphic novel. In saying this, I mean no offense to 'Ghost World' or "V For Vendetta,' but there was something necessary about having this film animated.
reviewed by: blaine |  February 2008 [link] |  recommend


phone booth
director: joel schumacher
Colin Farrell's a game little actor, even if his "Bronx accent" in this movie is ludicrously, distractingly bad. Staging the whole film in a -- uh, oh yeah, PHONE BOOTH -- is a fun formal gimmick, and gives this degraded little Hitchcockian thriller a bit of a trashy stage play feel.
reviewed by: matthewS |  April 2003 [link] |  recommend


pirates of the caribbean: dead man's chest
director: gore verbinski
This piece of floating, flaming driftpoo almost blew the patina off of our perfect Outer Banks vacation, at least the 2nd half of the day on which we chose to see it. Sorry, Mark.
reviewed by: alec |  July 2006 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up


pirates of the caribbean: the curse of the black pearl
director: gore verbinski
Definitely not just for the chilluns, this Disney ride turned feature film boasted some pretty awesome special effects, inspired mincing by Johnny Depp and Geoffrey Rush, enough jokes and action to keep me interested, and a really scary monkey. I laughed, I cheered, I want to see it again. Gratuitous third sentence: Aaaargh, matey!
reviewed by: liz |  July 2003 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up


planet of the apes
director: tim burton
While this might be the best film to ever contain the line "Your monkey launches at 06:00", it is probably the worst film to contain the words planet and apes in it's title (yeah, worse than the ones with Ricardo Montablan). The visual effects are pretty cool, but the rest of this business is loud, stupid, and boring; which really just hammers in the fact that this didn't need to be made.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2001 [link] |  recommend


prairie home companion
director: robert altman
There's something so complimentary about Robert Altman and Garrison Keillor doing a film together. Prairie Home Companion the movie is a fine little film light and airy and dark and dry and corny all at once with Altman and Keillor producing this lovely weaving of stories and characters (with the classic Altman huge assemble cast) based around their little radio show that time forgot.
reviewed by: rich |  June 2006 [link] |  recommend 3 thumbs up


prometheus
director: ridley scott
Not only was the ending a confusing muddle, but the opening scene and most of the middle made no sense to me. I just wanted to see aliens taking out a bunch of quirky characters, and I was disappointed.
reviewed by: jen |  June 2012 [link] |  recommend


punch drunk love
director: p.t. anderson
I'm so glad that P.T. Anderson is a director, and not something else like a pet shop owner, because I would have missed out on seeing a great movie like this.
reviewed by: tamara |  October 2002 [link] |  recommend 5 thumbs up



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us