New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





K
akira
director: katsuhiro ôtomo
Post-nuclear-blast "New Tokyo"--an overpopulated metropolis struggling with anarchic activities and cultists obsessed with "Akira"--is home to a young biker gang with two members named Tetsuo and Kanada. When Tetsuo gets into a motorcycle accident in the proximity of a strange blue-skinned child, he aquires some of "Akira's" intense psychic powers and threatens the welfare of New Tokyo, driving his former friend Kanada to oppose his self-destructive power trip.
reviewed by: victoria |  October 2004 [link] |  recommend 6 thumbs up


old joy
director: kelly reichardt
reviewed by: alec |  October 2006 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


love's labour lost
director: kenneth branagh
The script is true to the text of Shakespeare and at the same time this film looks like it could have been made in the 30's. While far from perfect, once again you have to give props to Branagh for taking an audacious chance, giving one of Bill's lesser known plays a Cole Porter makeover, I know this one is getting panned quite a bit but I think it's worth checking out.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  August 2000 [link] |  recommend


you can count on me
director: kenneth lonergan
There is a familiar sadness that permeates every frame of
this film, a very effective tale of a a hardworking single
mother and her aimless brother. Things move at a slow
deliberate pace, every scene feels like it's there for a reason,
making this one of the strongest, best written films of the
year.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  December 2000 [link] |  recommend


sky captain and the world of tomorrow
director: kerry conran
"Sky Captain" would really love to be the world's next "Raiders of the Lost Ark": a rollicking thrill-ride that harkens back to early film and radio serials, filled with a sense of wonder. Sadly, it fails--whisper thin plot, horrible dialogue, and (its worst sin) a Gwyneth Paltrow performance as a reporter that seem more influenced by Quaaludes than "His Girl Friday."
reviewed by: Stu |  September 2004 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up


one day in september
director: kevin macdonald
A suspenseful, disturbing documentary about a hostage situation at the 1972 Olympics, the use of still photographs and news footage is very effective. The only flaw of the film is the use of some of the music, I personally think it underplays the inherent tragedy in the story; especially an Olympic montage cut to Led Zeppelin's "Immigrant Song" has you waiting for "Just Do It" to flash across the screen at any moment.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  November 2000 [link] |  recommend


count of monte cristo, the
director: kevin reynolds
On the way into the theater I felt like a man who had lost a bet; about a half hour into it I thought to myself, "hmm, not bad" and an hour into it I was thoroughly enjoying myself. Nothing really happens in the way of surprises but overall a lot of fun
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  March 2002 [link] |  recommend


jay and silent bob strike back
director: kevin smith
This is not a very good movie but it still cracked me up. Sort of the film equivalent of a special crossover issue of your favorite comic book where all you heroes team up to fight a common foe......or so I would imagine.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  October 2001 [link] |  recommend


dogma
director: kevin smith
After a promising beginning this film quickly begins to fall apart and quickly becomes a series of sophomoric
ramblings on religion. Scenes last way too long (the painful where Matt Damon and Ben Affleck slay a boardroom of evil suits comes to
mind) and a lot of the cast just seems to be there for the sake of having them in the movie.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


cup, the
director: khyentse norbu
There's no script and non-actors are used and unfortunately it shows. This film left me cold, there were no real characters to which to get attached and the story was bland and lifeless, a wannabe feel-good film that left me feeling nothing.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us