New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





R
rachel getting married
director: jonathan demme
This movie annoyed me and made me physically ill.
reviewed by: jen |  October 2008 [link] |  recommend


raising victor vargas
director: peter sollett
This sweet coming-of-age flick set in the Lower East side is a great argument for not reading movie reviews (henceforth referred to as 'the hype'); if I had heard any more the hype about it, I indubitably would have felt the need to become part of the backlash, instead of enjoying if for the funny, real, and fresh good time it is. So go see it, or don't, whatever.
reviewed by: evan |  April 2003 [link] |  recommend


ran
director: akira kurosawa
This amazing take on King Lear is epic in every sense of the word. Every frame of this film is alive with vibrant color (especially red), a real treasure to see on the big screen.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  October 2000 [link] |  recommend


real cancun, the
director: rick de oliveira
In this lurid documentary, sixteen pretty, college-aged party freaks share one fabulous beach house and the self-esteem of a single, thirteen-year-old fat girl. When I tell you that this is a great, great film, I bet you'll think I'm crazy, or stupid, or lying, and you'll skip it, which will be your loss, doubtin' Tom.
reviewed by: matthewS |  April 2003 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


return of the king (lotr 3)
director: jackson, peter
The weakest of the three, but Chris thought it the best (because the story follows one narrative thread) but when they are not fighting, they spend a lot of time staring at each other in moments of cringey dramatic import. Frodo spends the whole film looking nauseated or stricken, Arwen (Liv) is wimpy or cutesy, the battle scenes are awesome, and the blonde human lady (with a crush on Aragorn) and her dad the king and the secondary hobbits are the only ones who seem to make any character progression.
reviewed by: adina |  December 2003 [link] |  recommend 5 thumbs up


return to me
director: bonnie hunt
Here's an unlikely pitch for a romantic comedy: a guy and his wife are happily married (is there any other way), said wife dies and she's an organ doner, woman need's heart transplant and get's the dead wife's heart: flash forward to a year later, widower and woman meet and fall in love. I really liked this movie quite a bit, from start to finish I enjoyed it; while there are no big surprises in it, it's funny and well-acted and it has a lot of cool old people in it.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


revanche
director: gotz spielmann
This film from Austria, a nominee for best foreign language film, might seem at first to be a revenge thriller,but it is really an ensemble drama about four characters who are lonely even when they are together. Even though at times the film might seem like a bad Euro-art house cliche, the filmmaking and acting is so low-key that the film disappears all together and what's left on the screen are some very deep characters capable of surprising right up to the end.
reviewed by: jen |  May 2009 [link] |  recommend


ridley scott
director: american gangster
Most of this movie is a well-acted, well-shot, well-edited typical gangster picture which really only gets interesting in the last ten minutes. Woohoo, I did it in one sentence! Wait, does my second sentence count? Now, I'm up to three sentences, no four.
reviewed by: jen |  November 2007 [link] |  recommend


ring, the
director: gore verbinski
This U.S. remake of Hideo Nakata’s Ringu (1998) has the basics of a good scare flick but falls short on the classic creepiness one would expect from a psychodrama horror movie. It gets a 4.5 out of 10 on the fright meter - the .5 just because the mysterious tape that causes one to die 7 days after viewing it was like a NIN music video without the music.
reviewed by: kelly |  October 2002 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


ringu
director: hideo nakata
Building its suspense through layers of creepiness without much blood or gore, the original version of The Ring (and basically fear dot com) is a masterpiece of minimalist horror flick. The haunting images and eerie sounds will cost you at least a good night sleep, if not more.
reviewed by: taiwai |  October 2002 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


road trip
director: todd phillips
Not so much a movie as it is a series of situations set up one after the other to disgust or offend, this is definitely my guiltiest pleasure so far this year and I laughed quite a bit. Let me just say that I am thrilled at the prospect of the return of the teen sex comedy and I prediction this genre would once again rise and reclaim it's rightful place in cinematic history.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


rock star
director: stephen herek
An innocuous and entertaing piece of fluff with Mark Wahlberg playing a variation of his sweet but not too bright Boogie Nights character. Faithfully recreating a sadly bygone era (the movie feels like it was made in the eighties) this will tide me over until I can get the cash together to make the film version of David Lee Roth's novel "Crazy From the Heat".
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  October 2001 [link] |  recommend


royal tenenbaums, the
director: wes anderson
Rushmore is my favorite film of the last three years, I love it more with every viewing. I love Anderson's newest effort as well and look forward to all my future viewings of this beautiful film as he delves deeper into a world of his own making.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  December 2001 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


run lola run
director: tom tykwer
A great colorful entertaining film which shows how the simplest of things can change one's day. Exciting cinematography, taut editing, and a great soundtrack propels the viewer through an 80 minute chase, once again: it's really nice to something different.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us