New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





L
borat: cultural leanings of america for make benefit glorious nation of kazakhstan
director: larry charles
reviewed by: rich |  November 2006 [link] |  recommend 4 thumbs up


dogville
director: lars oon trier
Mean-spirited and misanthropic to a fault, Lars von Trier's bastardization of "Our Town" wants desperately to provoke its audience--which it does about as elegantly as a frat boy whose had too many vodka red bulls. Von Trier's interminable desecration of an insanely beautiful Nicole Kidman should just be skipped.
reviewed by: Stu |  April 2004 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


dancer in the dark
director: lars von trier
I think people are either going to love or hate this film, I fall into the former category. This is a beautiful and harrowing tale of innocence and sacrifice in a horrible world, Bjork is pretty great in her first film role and her musical numbers are amazing (the one with the train comes to mind); those who are susceptible to motion sickness beware…lots of handheld digital camera action going on here.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  October 2000 [link] |  recommend


chocolat
director: lasse hallstrom
A mysterious woman and her daughter blow into a town
(populated with stock characters) and turn things on their
proverbial ear through the sensuality of chocolate. Always
predictable, never offensive (the cast is great), this is a light
little film that made me want to watch Big Night again.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  February 2001 [link] |  recommend


cider house rules, the
director: lasse hallstrom
Once again, books and; films are apples and oranges; every once in awhile something crosses over but those moments are far and few between. Tobey Maguire's performance is the high point of this innocuous film (who ever thought a film with such plot points as abortion, incest, and infidelity could ever be labeled innocuous), there's nothing especially exciting about this film but it is diverting for a couple of hours.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


die another day
director: lee tamahori
There was really not a single redeeming quality to this movie. In fact, it sucked so bad that the repeated smacking of my hand against my forehead has left an indelible red mark.
reviewed by: sara |  November 2002 [link] |  recommend 3 thumbs up


laurel canyon
director: lisa cholodenko
This is a great movie. Do everything in your power to see this movie.
reviewed by: tim |  April 2003 [link] |  recommend


march of the penguins
director: luc jacquet
The waddle, they flop, they sing and they rock! Join the emperor penguins of Antartica as they march their way into your heart, you'll want to take one home and raise it as your own.
reviewed by: elanamatic |  July 2005 [link] |  recommend 4 thumbs up


the holy girl
director: lucretia martel
This film about a young Catholic girl coming of age in Argentina and her middle aged male object/leerer should have been great, but it wasn't. While the lead performances were good, it really dragged and I fell asleep.
reviewed by: robin |  June 2005 [link] |  recommend


together
director: lukas moody-son
Interesting character movie about a commune's sudden deterioration from within. While sad and heartfelt this film made me feel pretty good, not that I am going to run out and join a commune now.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  October 2001 [link] |  recommend


lilja 4-ever
director: lukas moodysson
Magnificently acted and brilliantly shot film about likeable teenage girl in post-Soviet Russian slums who is abandoned by her mother and tricked into going to Sweden for a better life. Stretches the limits of how much a human being can withstand and explores how one can survive in desperate times.
reviewed by: robin |  May 2003 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us