New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





W
waking life
director: richard linklater
Now folks I'm about as sharp as a donut and all this movie really does is repeat a lot of stuff I sort of had figured out when I was fifteen. Pretentious and overbearing, it assumes that none of us have taken Philosophy 101 and actually need to be hit over the head with all this heaviness, somewhere between an Earthlink commercial and a bad MTV series (is there any other kind).
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  October 2001 [link] |  recommend


walk the line
director: james mangold
reviewed by: jen |  December 2005 [link] |  recommend 7 thumbs up


war of the worlds
director: steven spielberg
Hands down, the scariest movie I have EVER seen in theatres--and I wasn't the only one crying, screaming, and crouching down in my seat, because the 1953 version doesn't even hold a metaphorical candle to this movie explosion. Steven Spielberg has gone over to the dark side, and it shows, with rivers full of dead bodies and red plants that derive their color from human blood: Tom Cruise defies his recent antics to deliver a pretty damn good performance, Dakota Fanning is amazing, and the aliens (and in particular, their tripod ship's haunting bellows) are fucking terrifying.
reviewed by: victoria |  June 2005 [link] |  recommend


way of the gun, the
director: christopher mcquarrie
Despite an incredible opening (featuring what I believe to be the filthiest line of dialogue uttered in the history of popular cinema) and entertainingly bloody final half hour this film falls a little flat. There’s just enough here to make me really want to like this film, leads Ryan Phillippe and Benecio DelToro are amazing as two sociopaths who concoct a half-assed kidnapping scheme that you just know has to go horribly wrong….just rent it.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  September 2000 [link] |  recommend


wedding crashers
director: david dobkin
Dude. Shakes head slowly, laughing softly...dude.
reviewed by: blaine |  August 2005 [link] |  recommend 6 thumbs up


what the #$*! do we know!?
director: william arntz
This movie is mindblowingly cool, especially when it departs from Psychology 001 educational video territory or the hokey basic plot involving a cranky bespectacled photographer. 14 quantum physics professors, experts and mystics all offer their views on the universe, thought, potential, and the mystery of "If thoughts can do that do water, what can they do to US?"
reviewed by: victoria |  September 2004 [link] |  recommend


willard
director: glen morgan
Crispin Glover has never been creepier! I enjoyed this film and think it may even become a cult classic just like its original (Interesting trivia - The portrait used for Crispin’s (Willard’s) father was Bruce Davison, the man that played Willard in the 1971 original)
reviewed by: kelly |  March 2003 [link] |  recommend


winged migration
director: jacques cluzaud, michel debats, jacques perrin
A visually stunning documentary that follows the migration of birds from the Poles and points in between. Watching the birds make their way through many obstacles will definitely hold your interest and the camerawork will leave you wondering “how did they do that?”- note no special effects were used in the film- it’s nothing but the real thing.
reviewed by: rachel |  September 2003 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


wisconsin death trip
director: james marsh
Through a series of archival photos, narration's of old news stories, and dramatic re-creations this film tells the history of murder, suicide, and madness in the town of Black River Falls, Wisconsin. While technically impressive, this film is ultimately hollow and a bit pretentious and you don't know much about the town at all by the time it's over.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


wonder boys
director: curtis hanson
Well made, entertaining comedy about a college English professor who can't complete his second novel, his troubled student, and the "lost weekend" that may or may not straighten out their lives. The film moves along rapidly, giving you characters who aren't necessarily likable but are interesting; this works due to the perfect casting including Tobey Maguire, Michael Douglas (taking a break from crap), and Frances MacDormand.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


world is not enough, the
director: michael apted
You would think by 1999 someone would invent a supercomputer powerful enough to churn out a halfway decent Bond movie every other year, you look up "formula" in the dictionary and you'd see a picture of James Bond. This is one of the weakest entries in this now boring series; the plot escapes me though I think there's something in there about a stolen warhead (how many warheads are there on the planet anyway)…..I have no idea why I went to see this movie.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us