New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





I
i am legend
director: francis lawrence
In this blockbuster hit version of the "last man on earth" Will Smith out acts his predecessors Charlton Heston and Vincent Price (as if that is hard?) and though the movie lacks heart, except for the final scene with the dog, it is scary/suspenseful in that horrible things jump out at you way. Those zombie things are scary as sh*t.
reviewed by: Eve |  December 2007 [link] |  recommend


i'm not there
director: todd haynes
This new film from Todd Haynes has six actors playing various aspects of a Bob Dylan character. I saw it last night and was blown away by it, and I want to see it again, please.
reviewed by: jen |  November 2007 [link] |  recommend


identity
director: james mangold
John Cusack or not, this film would have been entertaining for me even with Ray Liotta's puffy, pockmarked mug overacting surprise and terror all over the rain soaked set. Don't most fast-eye-twitching, multi personality disordered, psycho killers have a whore, wannabe orange farmer lurking deep in their psyche?
reviewed by: nate |  April 2003 [link] |  recommend


idi amin dada
director: barbet schroeder
I sat with mouth agape, at once amused and horrified at this documentary of Uganda's delusional former dictator Idi Amin, a man who kills thousands of his own people based on his psychic powers, trains his landlocked navy in Lake Victoria and his paratroopers on playground slides in preparation for his attack on Isreal, takes a collection of food and money for the people of Great Britain, and who blames the stagnant economy on the laziness of the Ugandan women. Really, you have to see it to believe it.

reviewed by: sara |  May 2003 [link] |  recommend


igby goes down
director: burr steers
After getting over my disappointment that this wasn't a fellatio filled gay porn vehicle for Macaulay Culkin’s brother, I was totally charmed by this little New York City, Holden Caulfield-esque, Coming Of Age flick. Second sentence: Claire Danes’ panties.
reviewed by: mattyj |  October 2002 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up


in her shoes
director: curtis hanson
reviewed by: jen |  October 2005 [link] |  recommend


in the bedroom
director: todd field
Despite one major misstep I have to say this was a really terrific film. A well acted study on mourning and loss, well worth skipping Snow Dogs for.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  February 2002 [link] |  recommend


in the mood for love
director: wong kar-wai
Super lush, well-made film about a would-be romance
between two people who spouses are having an affair with
one another. Coincidence and missed opportunity play a huge
role in this wonderfully melancholy treat.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  February 2001 [link] |  recommend


incredibles, the
director: brad bird
Go see this, it's great. And yes, that is the voice of Sarah Vowell.
reviewed by: evan |  November 2004 [link] |  recommend 4 thumbs up


inland empire
director: david lynch
"Why turn a film back into words?" Relatively impossible (and pointless) to describe, it must be seen and heard and experienced.
reviewed by: alec |  January 2007 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


insider, the
director: michael mann
An enjoyable throwback to the conspiracy films of the early 70's, at the heart of this film is a brilliant performance by Russell Crowe. Lot's of handheld and over the shoulder shots add to the paranoia and urgency in this engrossing story of a corporate whistle blower, the film runs out of steam in the last half hour but this is still something worth seeing.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


insomnia
director: christopher nolan
I'm sure this all looked pretty great on paper; the director of Memento and Al Pacino (creator of the Hoo-Ha School of Self-Parody) in a remake of Erik Skjoldbjærg's 1997 thriller. What we get in an exercise in the very OK, Pacino is pretty great and Robin Williams manages to use his natural creepiness; entertaining but nothing that sticks with you.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  June 2002 [link] |  recommend


intacto
director: juan carlos fresnadillo (director/writer)
This strange Spanish sci-fi thriller is an interesting tale about a group of gamblers who play freaky-deaky games with chance. Drawing from TV's Strange Luck with a touch of Unbreakable this movie where the luckiest guys in the world have a face-off is an engaging love it or hate it film (which I hated, but Ben loved).
reviewed by: raquel |  December 2002 [link] |  recommend


into the wild
director: sean penn
This is good film that could have been great. I found myself watching it and missing the voice of Jon Krakauer, the author of the book who gave the story balance and a reality check.
reviewed by: jen |  November 2007 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


iron ladies, the
director: youngyooth thongkonthun
Surreal and silly
Phillipino trannies kick
some volleyball ass
reviewed by: raquel |  October 2001 [link] |  recommend



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us