New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





G
gangs of new york
director: martin scorsese
Watching this brutal, bloody picture about Civil War-era angloid thugs, you might start thinking about Scorsese's other movies about goons of other periods, and imagine history the way he seems to see it: wherein political development is always driven by the cruelest, greediest malefactors of any era, and wherein pain and suffering are facts of human existence that can never be diminished, only transferred from one population to another. If not, Daniel Day-Lewis will still wow you with his prodigious talents both for acting and for growing a remarkable mustache.
reviewed by: matthewS |  December 2002 [link] |  recommend


genghis blues
director: roko belic
This movie is pure inspiration, plus a dash of fascination as well. Blind African-American blues singer Paul Pena hears Tuvan throatsinging on the radio in 1986, teaches himself how to sing 3 notes at once like the Tuvans, then goes to Tuva in 1995 to compete in the national throatsinging competition!
reviewed by: victoria |  March 2005 [link] |  recommend


ghost dog: the way of the samurai
director: jim jarmusch
Contrived and uneven, this film is too self-consciously hip for it's own good.
Though not without it's good moments (the score and the visuals are pretty great) it just plods along and makes the same points again
and again with none of the subtlety and humor that was apparent in his earlier efforts like "Down by Law".
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


ghost world
director: terry zwigoff
Every once in a while we get to see a film that is just a pleasure to watch and this was one of those cases: I really love this movie. A sharply written and beautifully acted dark comedy about two best friends trapped in a world that just doesn't get it; I could have watched another hour of this film.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2001 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


girl with a pearl earring
director: peter webber
Vermeer mastered techniques capturing the essence of light and the softness of human skin in an age--as depicted in this film--that was bleak and unappreciative of the human form's beauty. Webber's photography subtly highlighted that beauty, making every single shot worthy of the craft of a master.
reviewed by: nate |  February 2004 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up


gladiator
director: ridley scott
An entertaining film which works better as an action film than as a wannabe historical epic. To quote my
friend Pat, this films biggest problem is quite simply "not enough gladiating."
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2000 [link] |  recommend


gomorrah
director: matteo garrone
A gritty view into the ruthlessness of Italian Camorra syndicate and the business of killing. Not exactly The Sopranos.
reviewed by: Eve |  October 2008 [link] |  recommend


good girl
director: miguel arteta
this was a funny and sad little movie about a texas "retail rodeo" employee looking for someone to "get" her and she succeds when she finds a kindred spirit in a co-worker to have an affair with. jennifer aniston is good in this role but is too "friends" looking although the wal-mart jeans and sweaters are excellent.
reviewed by: lisa may |  November 2002 [link] |  recommend


gosford park
director: robert altman
Altmanís finest ensemble piece since Popeye, less about the whodunnit than it's about the upstairs-downstairs class struggle. I feel I need to see it again to get the names down right, and Clive Owen really should be playing James Bond.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  February 2002 [link] |  recommend


grindhouse
director: robert rodriguez & quentin tarantino
This double feature (plus previews) tribute to seventies trash cinema made me laugh out loud while I hacked up my right lung and went into a total moviegoing high. I don't know what else to say in the second sentence because sometimes things just go beyond words.
reviewed by: jen |  April 2007 [link] |  recommend 5 thumbs up


grizzly man
director: werner herzog
Herzog's latest entry in his "man going insane in a wild environment" series is a compelling portrait of a troubled activist who spent the last 15 years living up close with bears in Alaska and filming it all before getting ripped apart and eaten alive by them. While the wildlife footage is as intimate as we will ever see of the daily lives of these powerful animals, the most interesting aspect of the film is watching this man slowly lose touch with the modern world... and his mind.
(reviewed by sven!)
reviewed by: guest review |  August 2005 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us