New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





F
a man apart
director: f. gary gray
Vinís acting I must say has improved somewhat, he is now one-step above David Caruso (which still doesnít say much). But thatís not the only thing wrong with this film, I mean come on an entire movie for Vin and NOT ONE scene of him TOPLESS, what the hell is up with that?
reviewed by: kelly |  April 2003 [link] |  recommend


the constant gardner
director: fernando meirelles
reviewed by: jen |  September 2005 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


das leben der anderen (the lives of others)
director: florian henckel von donnersmarck
Finally, finally, finally, I saw this great film (this year's academy award winner for best foreign langauge film) and what a delight it was. Set in East Germany in the 1980s, the film's characters dance through dark nights and grey Berlin days as we watch the watchers watch the ordinary become extraordinary.
reviewed by: jen |  March 2007 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up


i am legend
director: francis lawrence
In this blockbuster hit version of the "last man on earth" Will Smith out acts his predecessors Charlton Heston and Vincent Price (as if that is hard?) and though the movie lacks heart, except for the final scene with the dog, it is scary/suspenseful in that horrible things jump out at you way. Those zombie things are scary as sh*t.
reviewed by: Eve |  December 2007 [link] |  recommend


constantine
director: francis lawrence
Keanu Reeves plays an emotionally withdrawn, troubled exorcist-psychic whose job–banishing demons–becomes much more difficult when the "Spear of Destiny" is found. The Spear enables Satan's son to be physically embodied on earth, and so the chain-smoking-and-lung-cancer-striken protagonist must combine with a tough cop named Angela to prevent a literal "hell on earth."
reviewed by: victoria |  February 2005 [link] |  recommend


swimming pool
director: francois ozon
An uptight, pinched-faced, frustrated, British mystery writer creates a fresh perspective for herself by finding an inspirational muse of sorts while recharging her battery at her publisher's French country home. Although I found the photography crisp, the camera angles engaging, and was left wondering if Marcel the aging gardener/poolman actually serviced the writer turned sex kitten--I wish the producers had left the cover on the Swimming Pool project altogether.
reviewed by: nate |  July 2003 [link] |  recommend


the score
director: frank oz
This is a decent well made crime thriller that takes it's time setting up the characters and the plot. While it doesn't reinvent the wheel it is still and enjoyable throwback to crime films of the seventies with nary a slow motion explosion in sight.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  July 2001 [link] |  recommend


death at a funeral
director: frank oz
This is a comedy about a British family at a funeral, and Uncle Alfie stool the show. I laughed out loud three different times, and one time, I was super repulsed but then proceeded to laugh even louder.
reviewed by: jen |  August 2007 [link] |  recommend 2 thumbs up



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us