New  »   Gator Country  ·  Pony  ·  Sunshine Jen  ·  Post-Modern Drunkard  ·  Robot Journal





O
ocean's twelve
director: steven soderbergh
Complete guilty pleasure movie fun, with some groovy camera work, a great soundtrack, and fine performances by the huge ensemble cast. The first half was interesting enough, but I found that the second half to be a bit lacking i.e. you can wait for this to come out on DVD.
reviewed by: rich |  December 2004 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


o brother, where art thou?
director: joel coen
Not their best work but there is still plenty to love about this
film, practically every shot in it is beautiful and seems
painstakingly planned out. George Clooney delivers an
incredible human cartoon performance which is almost as
good as Nick Cage in Raising Arizona, the music is really
amazing too.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  January 2001 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


ocean's eleven
director: steven soderbergh
Kind of like Pop Rocks, you know there's a party in your mouth but when you look in there there's nothing. I enjoyed this light unoffensive confection while I was watching it but after discussing it this past weekend with my friend Chris we determined that it was less than the bomb.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  December 2001 [link] |  recommend


ocean's twelve
director: steven soderbergh
Complete guilty pleasure movie fun, with some groovy camera work, a great soundtrack, and fine performances by the huge ensemble cast. The first half was interesting enough, but I found that the second half to be a bit lacking i.e. you can wait for this to come out on DVD.
reviewed by: rich |  December 2004 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


old joy
director: kelly reichardt
reviewed by: alec |  October 2006 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


old school
director: todd philips
IMDB user "movieguy1021" says OLD SCHOOL is "basically just stupid, with idiotic sex jokes thrown in," and I wholeheartedly agree, but I get the impression I enjoyed it an awful lot more than he did. I don't get "movieguy1021"; I assume he's a hefty guy himself, as he indignantly notes that he didn't appreciate the "fat jokes" (there aren't any "fat jokes" per se, just a very fat kid whose corpulence is exploited to comic effect, which is different) -- but aren't tubby folks supposed to be jolly or something?
reviewed by: matthewS |  February 2003 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


once
director: john carney
This is the quietest movie musical I have ever seen. It stayed with me for a long time after I walked away from it.
reviewed by: jen |  August 2007 [link] |  recommend 1 thumbs up


one day in september
director: kevin macdonald
A suspenseful, disturbing documentary about a hostage situation at the 1972 Olympics, the use of still photographs and news footage is very effective. The only flaw of the film is the use of some of the music, I personally think it underplays the inherent tragedy in the story; especially an Olympic montage cut to Led Zeppelin's "Immigrant Song" has you waiting for "Just Do It" to flash across the screen at any moment.
reviewed by: JohnLawton |  November 2000 [link] |  recommend



:: archives ::


sort by director
 ?    A    B    C    D  
 E    F    G    H    I  
 J    K    L    M    N  
 O    P    Q    R    S  
 T    V    W    Y    Z  


sort by movie title
 1    2    3    4    8  
 A    B    C    D    E  
 F    G    H    I    J  
 K    L    M    N    O  
 P    Q    R    S    T  
 U    V    W    X    Y  
 Z  


  • Token Book Review
  • Haiku Record Review
  • 2 Sentence Movie Review


  • The way I see it: My Favorite Records of 2004


  • DVD Review
  • Old School
  • Books About Movies





  • Want to contribute a review?
    contact us